Gluten Free Gin and Vodka

Gluten Free Gin and Vodka. Is there Gluten in Gin?

I did a lot of googling on this mysterious subject and some sites will say one thing and the other would say the opposite. I emailed a few companies to see if I could get a straight answer about Gluten Free Gin and Vodka but it doesn’t seem that route is the easy way either. Nevertheless Here is a response from a few major distributors: (these are all gin-related because I wanted to post a gin drink recipe but then ended up 3 different drinks because why not!) (Check out my post on whiskey here)

Gluten Free Gin and Vodka

Check out the sour grapes recipe at the end!

Here is a response from Seagrams:

Dear Sarah,

Thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding glutens in our distilled spirit products, specifically Seagram’s Gin. Glutens are a class of proteins found in certain grains, particularly wheat, rye and barley, and oats.

Distilled spirits are produced from grains such as wheat, rye and barley, and oats. In the distilled spirits production process, grains are allowed to ferment, producing ethanol. The ethanol is mechanically separated from the grain mixture by the process of distillation. The materials from the grains, including gluten proteins, are not retained in the finished distilled spirit product. However, we do not test for the presence of glutens in our finished products.

If you are concerned about a particular product of ours, we recommend that you contact a physician since the decision to consume distilled spirits may be based on your unique medical situation.

We thank you for contacting us and hope the information provided has been helpful.

Consumer Relations
Pernod Ricard USA

Here is a response from Hendricks’s:

Dear Sarah,

We trust this day finds you in fine fettle.

Hendricks is indeed gluten free!

To learn more about Hendrick’s other various misadventures – perhaps you might care to follow us on facebook or twitter at or @hendricksginuk

Toodle pip!

Hendrick’s Gin

Here is a response from Williams Chase:

Hi Sarah

Yes are vodka and gin products are gluten free.

Kind regards,



Here is a response from Gordon’s Gin:

Dear Ms. Trafford,

Thank you for your recent email regarding Gordon’s Gin. It is always great to hear from our loyal consumers.

Our Gordon’s brand team has returned with the following answer in response to your query:

“The alcohol of agricultural origin used in the production of Gordon’s Gin is derived from wheat. No analytically detectable amount of material originally present in wheat can pass through the process of cooking, fermentation and distillation used to produce the alcohol. Accordingly, in my opinion, Gordon’s Gin is wheat / gluten free.” The other ingredients in Gordon’s Gin are cereals, water, botanicals and juniper berries.

As we are not qualified to give medical advice however we must advise all consumers with specific dietary requirements to consult their GP prior to consuming our brand.

Thank you again for taking the time to contact us and for your interest in our brand.

Kind regards

Enda Broderick

If you need some drink ideas, check out this book: Healthy Drink Recipesall the recipes in the book are all natural, sugar-free, gluten-free, paleo, vegan and have less than 1 grams net carbs per serving and 5 ingredients or less.

gluten free gin and vodka

Gluten Free Gin and Vodka

Sour Grapes

  • 2 cups seedless red grapes, plus more for garnish
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla (I used homemade)
  • 1.5 cups raw grapefruit juice (or freshly squeezed)
  • 3 shots vodka


  1. Puree grapes in a blender. Pour the puree through a fine-mesh strainer set over a medium bowl or large measuring cup. Press on the solids to extract all the juice. Add lemon and vanilla to the juice; stir until mixed. Add grapefruit juice and vodka. Divide among 4 ice-filled glasses. Garnish with whole grapes.

Watermelon & Gin

  • 5 cups diced watermelon, divided
  • 6 ounces gin, divided
  • 8 tablespoons lime juice, divided
  • 1 1/3 cups ginger ale, divided
  • Lime wedges, for garnish


  1. Freeze 1 cup watermelon for garnish. Puree the remaining 4 cups watermelon. Strain; divide the juice among 4 ice-filled glasses.
  2. Top each with 1 1/2 ounces gin, 2 tablespoons lime juice and 1/3 cup ginger ale. Garnish with the frozen watermelon and lime wedges. Non-alcoholic variation: Omit the gin.



10 thoughts on “Gluten Free Gin and Vodka

  1. Just so you know, distilled liquors are all gluten-free – gluten gets left behind. HOWEVER, if there are any artificial flavors or colors added then there is no way to know for sure. And in the US, alcoholic beverages cannot be labeled as gluten-free unless they did not start with a gluten containing grain (even if the end result is gluten-free).

    Anywho, your drink looks fantastic. I am having a cocktail with grapefruit juice myself this evening :)

    • Gluten Free Bitches

      Hey! thanks for that info. I found it really difficult to find straight answers on the subject. I did learn that artificial flavours are a no-no though. Enjoy your drink :)

  2. […] a good option if you don’t know how to say “is this gluten-free?” in French. Here’s a confirmation from one of the brand reps. Bombay Saphire is also […]

  3. NuGirl

    Thank you dearest, sweetest for doing the research…feeling loved <3. And yes I will Gin to that! Love Hendricks xoxox

    • Gluten Free Bitches

      That’s what I’m here for! :D

  4. […] wrote a post on gluten free alcohol before that mainly focused on Gin & Vodka so I thought I’d make a new one on Whiskey. My […]

  5. Skeptical

    Just thought I’d put my two cents in for anyone reading.

    For celiacs, you really need to take articles like this with a grain of salt. Just because one article says your favourite drink is “gluten free” does not quite confirm it.

    Some facts that are often distorted or looked over here:
    1. Even with distillation of grains containing gluten (wheat, barely, etc…) it has been proven small amount of gluten can still remain. The whole “distillation removes all gluten” is merely a hopeful myth that has been hyped up because people cling to the hope of still enjoying their favorite alcohol.
    2. all gin is based off distilled neutral grain spirits, meaning if you are celiac, seriously avoid it. (yes that includes Hendricks listed in this article).
    3. The same goes for whiskeys none are going to be safe even is distilled.
    4. Avoid cheap tequilas, its stereotyped all tequila comes from agave nectar but the truth is that cheaper ones will substitute part of the alcohol for grain spirits.

    And finally even trace amount of gluten can cause a reaction in celiacs, meaning it’s really not worth it to damage your gut over wishful thinking.

    • Sarah T

      The best you can do is ask questions and try it for yourself. I have friends who are celiac and some can handle some “gluten free” alcohols and others can’t. Everyone has different reactions, this article is meant to share my research. If something is causing you a reaction, don’t ingest it.

    • anna Ingram

      You are absolutey right.
      I had a bad reaction from Vodka and last night I had a small gin and tonic and had and immediate reaction; from now on will be avoiding all spirits as it is not worth the suffering :)

  6. Christmas is coming! I read this article with great interest. I’m Coeliac for me even the smallest amount of the protein gluten has a painful reaction for me. All London Dry Gin (UK law) must be grain based. In addition gin is made with a base of Vodka. There are a number of ‘naturally’ gluten free vodkas and gins that are made with a base of potatoes. Which are then distilled with their botanicals and natural flavours. Chase is a very good choice to try. Also there are a number of distilleries that use there local produce to ferment their spirits in Italy Spain and even Jamaica. Best avoid grain based alcohols. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong> 

Sarah T